1. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

    There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Bleeding ABS Brakes - Help

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by Tomflhrci98, Mar 30, 2017.

  1. Tomflhrci98

    Tomflhrci98 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Specifically a 2014 Road King. The questions are;
    Can anyone bleed the brakes or is it necessary for the dealer to do it?
    If the ABS needs to be active, what is the tool used for this?
    Can I buy this tool?
    What is happening when the ABS is being activated for bleeding the brakes?

    I talked my brother into getting 16inch apes and didn't realize the trouble he was going to have bleeding the fronts. He is able to bleed them but it doesn't seem good enough yet (still feels too soft) and we are not sure if we need to have the HD stealer $$$$$ bleed them more.

    Any help is greatly appreciated and we would really like to know more about what the ABS (and linked system) does if anyone knows.

    thx Tom
  2. hotroadking

    hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,159
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Mouseville USA
    I believe you need access to the ECM to properly using the HD Digital Tech tool,
    in order to do the job if you have ABS, takes the tech about 30 seconds to do,
  3. Lucifer

    Lucifer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Cape Breton NS,Canada
    Yeah, You need the HD Digital Tech, they run about $6000.00,so it's more economical to take it to the dealer for bleeding;).
    It is a quick job with the DT so the bill should be 1/4hr or less.
    The ABS module applies the brakes on and off rapidly(faster than you can pump the brakes manually)when you apply the brakes over 10MPH and prevents wheel lock up.
    The linked system applies both brakes using one lever or pedal and puts proper pressure on front and rear 70% front,30% rear(approx)
  4. charlie46

    charlie46 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Melbourne Fl
    wow! whoeda thought...'can't just bleed em without running the bike?
  5. hotroadking

    hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,159
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Mouseville USA
    Its possible, I changed the brake fluid on my 11 without using the DT
    and got good pressure, however the ABS needs to be properly cycled, so
    you could do all the grunt work then go to the dealer for a quickie flush
    of the abs
  6. Lucifer

    Lucifer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Cape Breton NS,Canada
    Tomflhrci98 likes this.

Share This Page