1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Word on oil different type of question (I Hope)

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by AFNurse, Feb 23, 2009.

1. AFNurse

AFNurse Moderator Staff Member

Have a buddy that has a soft tail....couldn't find 20w50, so got full synthetic 10w40..... implications? issues? Thanks!
  2. Tomflhrci98

Tomflhrci98 Active Member

I'm not an expert and wouldn't tell such, but I don't think the 10w-40 will hurt the motor. I think it will come down to how it sounds. I personally would want to stay away from the lighter wieghts when the summer comes on.

That's my two cents for what it's worth.
  3. AFNurse

he lives in Atlanta GA......and I was kinda thinking the same thing, but I am not the be all/end all oil guy......so thought I would post for input!
  4. chucktx

chucktx Moderator Staff Member

another oil question????!!!!!!!

if it is intended for aircooled engines you should be ok, but if intended for cars....i wouldnt run it for long........altho......ANY oil is better than NO oil.....:)

Attached Files:

5. AFNurse

thanks chuck!!! no, my main concern is that it isn't 20w50 and he is running an air cooled soft tail...(carbed, and not sure which year...) just don't want him doing huge damage....told him NOT to run it in all 3 holes..... only Engine oil....he agreed on that one! He does state that the owners manual/shop manual states 10w40 is ok......I was just checking with a few more folk!!! I don't care about dino or syn.... !!
  6. chucktx

chucktx Moderator Staff Member