1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

2004 CA wide glide pipes

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by RickWG, Jun 16, 2004.

1. RickWG

RickWG New Member

Just bought a 2004 wide glide and considering the addition of new pipes. Only want a little more sound than the stock pipes and the Screamin eagles should give me what I want. Besides, I don't want to wake the whole neighborhood at 6:30AM when I roll out of the garage. I have a couple of questions though.
    (since I'm new to this...)

The HD site says that the SE pipes are illegal for sale and use with CA emissions equipped vehicles. Is there anything else I should know other than replacing the pipes? Smog stuff...etc. (Um, don't care about the illegal thing so much as the smog warranty stuff.)

Will this void the smog warranty?

Any suggestions would be welcome as I'm here to learn.
    Thanks.
  2. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

It shouldn't void the smog warranty the dealer would have to prove the part caused the problem under the FTC magnusson moss act.

I would keep the stock pipes in the garage for inspection time in case you need them to get the sticker.

Talk with the SM if you are concerned about it, you'll find out quickly about your dealers attitude towards performance oriented bikes, a good one is into the process, wants to sell HD SE stuff anyway. See what he/she says about adding the se parts,