1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Air Shocks

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by DKIN21, Oct 18, 2006.

1. DKIN21

DKIN21 New Member

I'm New To The Bagger World, Just Bought A 07 Road King Screamin Eagle, I've Been Told To Run Any Where From 14lbs Of Air To 40lbs. Can't Seem To Get Ride Dialed In. We Ride 2 Up About 98% Of The Time Together We Are About 350 To 375 Lbs. Keep In Mind This Bike Does Not Have The Front Fairings Or The Hard Saddle Bags And Tour Pak Like The Ultra, Its Does Have Saddle Bags But Bike Is Still Not As Heavy As The Ultra. Any Suggestions On How Much Air To Run In Shocks??
  2. Harley Rider

Harley Rider New Member

I have a 03 screamin eagle,running close to your same weight,have tried pressure from 7#s to 35#s and i'am currently getting a great ride at 27#s.
  3. CD

CD Guest

HD air shocks are a PITA to get adjusted right initially. After that, the ride is okay. What you have to decide is that is it bottoming out or too much air not allowing proper travel. I start with 10 psi and keep increasing air until the ride is smoother. You need a good hand pump with a bleed valve or you will just be forever guessing. Progressive has some nice hand pumps with gauges and bleed valves and no loss reliefs.
  4. 04flhtci

04flhtci New Member

5. Tomflhrci98

Tomflhrci98 Active Member

Those Draggerbaggers are cool.

Since you answered a question I had about rear air shocks. I never tried above 10 lbs but I will try it now.