1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

California registration

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by ctd, Dec 9, 2005.

1. ctd

ctd New Member

I'm new with Harley's. It's been 30yrs since I've ridden. I just purchased a '01 Sportster from Texas, having it trucked to California. Using Daily Direct (anyone previously used this company?) to my home town. Are there any issues I'll run into trying to register it in California I should be aware of? It has Screaming Eagle exhaust system otherwise stock. Thanks
  2. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

CA has different emissions requirements only thing I can think of is the exhaust and hds have a charcoal canister to catch emissions, might have to pop on some stock pipes and ca emission parts. then take them off and put the se back on after registration
  3. ctd

ctd New Member

Thanks for the reply. That's what I was kind of afraid of, I wonder if they require an inspection. Mmmm. Why the one state I live in has to be different, just lucky I guess
  4. SK

SK New Member

I'm not sure you need to put stock stuff back on, though it won't hurt. There's no smog cert needed, so it won't have to go through an emissions check. California requires a used vehicle from out of state to have 7500 miles on it, or it can't be registered there. They probably will ask how much you paid for it, maybe having to show a receipt in order to tax you on it.
  5. ctd

ctd New Member