1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Engine, tranny oil

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by ctd, Dec 23, 2005.

1. ctd

ctd New Member

I did a search but came up basically empty handed. I am brand new to the HD bikes, and the one I bought, needs the fluids changed. Looking in the owner's manual, they recommend Harley oil this, Harley oil that. I can't believe there aren't equivalent oils or even better oils to use in all the necessary places. The book says to use a diesel oil if the HD oil isn't available, but to change back to HD oil as soon as you can.

What's everyone doing with the different areas, i.e. engine, primary, trans etc? I think I read the primary and trans share the same oil on the Sportster, but might be wrong.

Thanks
  2. Killer-B

Killer-B New Member

Hey there ctd, oil is one of those well-worn topics that can go on for ever. Go over to BITOG, they have an motorcycle area, they're some real experts on oil there. You can read and then make some of your own informed decisions.

http://theoildrop.server101.com/cgi/ultimatebb.cgi
  3. ctd

ctd New Member

Thanks for the URL, that's going to take some reading~:) I have a hard time believing the rest of the rotaing machinery out there in the world can do just fine with the major oil company products and the Harley's are only able to digest HD oil. I'm probably missing something, so will read all the info I can. Thanks.
  4. chucktx

chucktx Moderator Staff Member

5. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

CTD