1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Front Rotor Decision

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by 03LD, Jan 21, 2018.

1. 03LD

03LD Member

Was looking into getting a new rotor. EBC offers a wide or narrow rotor. To me the wide would give more cooling area vs the narrow. They are both 11.5" with wide having 2" surface area and the narrow 1.5. Same pads. Any one have any experience with either? Can't decide.
    Thanks
  2. Red Rider

Red Rider Well-Known Member

I've no experience with that rotor, but my 2cts is that the caliper working on it is a bigger factor. If you change the rotor and stay with the same caliper, you will most likely see no difference in braking.

How many pistons are in your caliper now? I went to a four piston caliper from PMC and am happy I did.

Rotor width impacts heat build-up, which can impact braking power, a big factor if your racing or riding in places that require constant braking. More is better in those situations, but having more weight on the wheel overall is a trade-off that the vast majority of riders don't need. I'd go narrow unless you really heat 'em up often.

Good luck and ride well!
  3. Fatboy128

Fatboy128 Well-Known Member