1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Not a mechanic

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by Harleywyld1, Sep 27, 2006.

1. Harleywyld1

Harleywyld1 New Member

OK ya'll I'm going to show my ignorance. I have a 97 FXSTC. When I purchased the bike I was told it had a Thunderslide carb or carb kit. I am no mechanic and I would like to know if anyone has any info on this type of carb. Also when I take the breather off is there any thing obivious that will tell me what type of carb I do have?
    We all had to start somewhere so don't laugh to hard.
    Thanks for any info.
  2. Harleywyld1

Harleywyld1 New Member

Thanks

Thanks for the info LowRiderGhost.
    I've had the bike for about 3 years but always had a shop do the work on it. I guess this is as good a time as any for me to really check out my bike. I do have a parts manual that I bought at the local shop but since I bought the bike 2nd hand I don't know how much that will help. Thanks again.
    Haleywyld1
  3. Harleywyld1

Harleywyld1 New Member

Thanks

I appreciate the advice LRG.
    I'm going to start this weekend just like you said. It's due an overall nut and bolt tightening session anyway since my kickstand almost fell off this weekend during a local poker run (but that's another story).
    Thanks again for the help. Ride safe
  4. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

HW

What you're talking about a thunderslide isn't a carb but a performance kit for Khelin CV carbs that come stock on HD's.