1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Oil question

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by popeye, Mar 23, 2011.

1. popeye

popeye Active Member

I hate to start an oil thread but my new bike is almost due it's first service.

When they did the walk through I mentioned the fact that I was very partial to Mobil syn. To which the technician told me that Harley would deny any warranty claim if I used it.

Has anyone heard of this? I've been an auto mechanic for over 25 years and Used mobil in all of our Kawasaki time bomb mx bikes as well as my street bikes. I can't see how they could do this if the oil met all of their specs.
  2. chucktx

chucktx Moderator Staff Member

they cannot deny warranty. they would have to supply the oil to void a warranty caused by oil. check the oil threads, there is a law on the books to support this.
  3. FLHTbiker

FLHTbiker Moderator Staff Member

Interesting, the top HD builder here at Harley Latus Motors uses Mobile 1 and recommends it over others.
  4. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

Want to have some fun with this nit-wit, see he just violated a federal law, it's called Magnusson Moss Act. Basically put into place to keep companies from requiring you to buy their replacement parts or they will void the warranty.