1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Oil Related Engine Failure

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by Lucifer, Jan 7, 2009.

1. Lucifer

Lucifer Well-Known Member

I asked the question on another forum" Has anyone ever heard of someone having an oil related engine failure??"

This is a reply I got.

I have been using Castrols hard drive oil for 3 years now with no problemos. But, to answer your question about using the wrong oil and failure. Yes, if you go to synthetic with too many miles on your bike, it will clean all the oil deposits from your cylinder walls and bearings,and cause massive failure to engine components. The motor in my bike only has about 12k miles on it,becuase of this happening to me 3 years ago. I changed to synthetic at 25k on the odometer,and the oil cleaned my engine to the point where the oil was coal black ater 250 miles. Changed it thinking something else was wrong, but after another 300 or o miles it turned solid black again. After it LOCKED up, we looked inside the engine cases and cylinder walls. You could eat lunch off the parts they were so clean. Synthetic oils have a cleaning agent in them that works very well. But not on an engine with a lot of miles on it. This is being said not in theory ,but from experience of having one lock up on me .

AFNurse Moderator Staff Member