1. After 20+ years it's time to pass the torch. If you are interested in acquiring this forum please contact support@cv-performance.com for details. Any spam will be reported and blocked.
  2. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Engine Rattle/chatter V-Twin 03 FLHT

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by mr_foots, Jul 17, 2004.

1. mr_foots

mr_foots New Member

Hi folks,

I'm new to HD and trying to learn the important noises. Someone told me it was normal for the V-twin in a FLHT to rattle or chatter around 2100-2500 rpm and especially when it is hot outside. I’m running 93 oct gas. Some of you more experienced HD owner may shed some light on this? 2003 model.
  2. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

No it's not normal, when are you seeing this, in 5th gear and rolling from 50 to 60 mph?

You should down shift at those low rpms with a V-twin then get the revs up.

If it does it at that rpm in all gears you may have a intake leak or poor fuel delivery.

What's been done to the bike is it stock?
  3. mr_foots

mr_foots New Member

Engine Rattle

Bike has 4800 miles. I bought it w/ 4100 on it. Stock mufflers but it sounds like baffles have been remove (if that is correct verbiage). It seem to make noise in all gears at the same RPM. It is more pronounced in hot weather. Local Harley dealer says it’s normal, but I can’t believe it.
  4. hotroadking

hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member