1. Welcome to Bike Talk, a forum for all bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts. If you are new to Bike Talk, be sure to register for free and join the conversation.

    There's always someone around willing to help out with questions or give a friendly wave back. All Harley and metric riders are welcome.

Handlebars, AAARRRRGH!

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Tech Talk' started by Red Rider, Feb 24, 2019.

  1. Red Rider

    Red Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Churchill County, NV
    Yeah, it all seems to be the ABS's fault for cost increase. I'm not giving up, just doing all the research I can first. Other Life things are getting in the way, too.

    I sure do miss the days of trying on different bars to see what felt best.

    I really appreciated you guys' help on this, I like to make informed decisions and you're darn sure informing me.

    BI, sure will be curious on your friend's results. Is his a bagger or 'tail?
  2. badinfluence63

    badinfluence63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    New England
    Bagger........a Limited. He got jammed up though. Indy told him he didn't need cable extensions for 10" bars. I showed him the yafee quote where it said 10" and over need cable extensions. He listened to the Indy. Instead of getting his bike yesterday noon he's getting it who knows when. He talked to an Indy but brought his bike to HD I think.

    I will let you know the outcome.
  3. hotroadking

    hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,528
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Mouseville USA
    dubleR, you can turn a wrench right?

    DIY, at half the cost, just find a HD shop that
    will hook up the bike to bleed the abs for a half
    hour labor.

    Or, get better bars at lower height so you don't have to
    bleed the abs, just move the controls and run the wires
    through the bars yourself.
  4. badinfluence63

    badinfluence63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    New England
    The 8" bars will do that.
  5. hotroadking

    hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,528
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Mouseville USA
    well, every inch counts....
  6. Fatboy128

    Fatboy128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Softails are not baggers, so if you can turn a 10mm you should be able to do the work...[/quote]

    Hell, they went metric!!! WTF
  7. hotroadking

    hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,528
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Mouseville USA
    10MM is a mookanic joke.
  8. Fatboy128

    Fatboy128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Whew!
  9. badinfluence63

    badinfluence63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    New England
    "Nope...bars were $399, install was $175.
    I opted for the Bagger Nation custom clamp, but not required. $79."

    My friend had a pair of 10" yafee bars installed at an indie on his 2018 ultra limited for the above listed explaination. Thats his bike in the picturd
    [​IMG]
    Red Rider likes this.
  10. badinfluence63

    badinfluence63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    New England
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2019
    Red Rider likes this.
  11. ultra200922

    ultra200922 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    WI
    Another place to check is Wild 1's bars. I've bought a couple sets from them, they can tell you if you need extended wires or cables and what length. They have a good product. Screenshot_20190406-163949.png
    Red Rider likes this.
  12. Alax Jordan

    Alax Jordan Guest

    I want to say that I need a solid pair of bar, that must be long lasting.
    Thanks
  13. charlie46

    charlie46 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Melbourne Fl
    what needs to be invented is sets of cable/wires and brake line extenders kits to ease changing handebars, for the diy guys
    Red Rider likes this.
  14. hotroadking

    hotroadking Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,528
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Mouseville USA
    You mean like this :D
    Red Rider likes this.
  15. Red Rider

    Red Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Churchill County, NV
    If this is a question, A.J., the answer is that all bars are solid and long lasting - unless ya run 'em into something more solid and longer lasting, that is:D. If you're just asking for some bars, ya might want to rephrase this.
  16. charlie46

    charlie46 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,039
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Melbourne Fl
    No. I mean a kit that would splice/attach to existing cables and lines elliminating the need to replace your stock set up.
  17. Alax Jordan

    Alax Jordan Guest

    I think when we ridding our motorcycle then must be check everything welly as a safety and it must be our duty.
    Without it we must wear jacket, pant, hand gloves, ear plugs etc.
  18. Red Rider

    Red Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Churchill County, NV
    Well, folks, the problem with replacing bars seems to be endemic from 2015 on. Word is that the minor changes in wire ohm resistance that occur cause most (if not all) bikes to start throwing codes. Now, I haven't invested a whole lot of research into this yet, as other things have been eating from my wallet lately, but that is the story. Apparently the problem can only be cleared by Harley-held software. I've been referred to West Coast Choppers, but no follow-up yet. Need the spare $$ before bothering any more shops.
  19. Red Rider

    Red Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Churchill County, NV
    Not my duty, dude. Maybe my choice, and often not, but not my friggin' duty. Ride free, or park it. As a veteran serviceman and firefighter, I know duty, and it sure as heck ain't wearing a jacket and/or ear plugs, etc. Don't mean to offend ya, as I hope ya didn't mean to rile me - but ya did. Besides, this thread is about handlebars, not safety gear requirements.

    Welcome to the forum, Alax. I hope to see you meaningfully contribute to future threads.
  20. badinfluence63

    badinfluence63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    New England
    Howdy RR. HOWS YOUR YEAR WORKING OUT FOR YOU SO FAR.....sorry accidental caps. Mine was going pretty good till i got sick last wednesday but on the mend finally.

    No problems with my 2015 ultra Low on the bar swap? Sux yoh are running into snafu's with your bars. Isit maybe just that model?
    Red Rider likes this.

Share This Page